Good luck exploring the infinite abyss!

Growing up, I was always told to relish wherever I was in life, since my impending adulthood would inevitably fly by.  Though I never exactly dismissed the thought, it wasn’t until recently that I began to understand its truth, either.

So here we are.  Five years into the the military, with at least five more lying ahead.  Beyond that is anybody’s guess.

With reading other milspouse blogs comes the realization that some of these couples are destined to be military lifers.  At this point, anyway, they seem to have it all figured out.  Unafraid of the uprooting whimsy that is military life, they look at their future and accept its contractual, yet indefinite terms together.

The more I think about it, I envy them.

While it’s possible that our affair with the Air Force could last just as long, it remains uncertain.  We look ahead one contract at a time, not knowing what comes next.  It’s only after life quickly sweeps more time under the rug that we realize it’s time to make that decision about reenlistment at least one more time.

Perhaps all I need is a perspective adjustment, but some days this leaves me unable to look past the years of my husband’s current contract.  We’re living life to its fullest and preparing for the future, but after a certain point I find myself staring into the infinite abyss.

Ah, but isn’t that the truth for us all?  Sure, it looks different to everyone, but no one is exempt from questioning what will become of them in the future.

It seems that the best I can do is make my plans, see them through, and accept that this is simply the structure and foundation needed for life to create something bigger than me.

Challenge accepted.

Leave a Reply

