Not Your Fault

Awolnation’s Not Your Fault has been my anthem for the last couple of months.  As the mother of two children aged two and younger, I can tell that it’s likely to continue being my anthem for quite some time.
Seriously, I couldn’t write some of the bewildering scenarios those two babies manage to fit us into.  I’m thankful that for the most part, I can look any given debacle in the eye and laugh, and at other times just be completely unaffected by it all.
After all, they’re little ones.  Their jobs are not to be neat, clean and convenient.  On the contrary, their occupation is to take in everything around them.  And while my kids are busy soaking up their surroundings, it is their clothing’s job to soak up whatever beverage or bodily fluid is being distributed without my immediate knowledge.
These things should be expected, and typically, they are.
Then, there are days like today.  Where all the elements of my life inside and outside of this home rendezvous in the center of my living room, insistent upon creating all different kinds of chaos until there is nothing left for this mama to do except crack.
And crack, I do.  Two crying kids, a handful of Cheerios of Silence later, and I’m ready to love on my kids the way they deserve.
I turn to prayer, and ask Him for strength.  I remember the concept of trading an earthly belonging for a Heavenly one.  Colossians 3:8 mentions some of the more undesirable aspects of being human.

But now you must rid yourselves of all such things as these: anger, rage, malice, slander, and filthy language from your lips.

 Colossians 3:12, on the other hand, features traits of a much more pleasant nature.

Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.

Easier said than done?  Yes.  Worth it?  Totally.  It’s all about taking it one thing at a time.  So for now, I’m trading anger for compassion, and trusting God to see me through on it.
Awolnation will likely be soundtracking me along the way, too…
Leave a Reply

