When should I have my coming out party?

Indeed, something I never thought would occur within me has begun to take root, and it makes me feel a little something like this:

Perhaps it’s a long time coming.  Maybe Winston Churchill was right when he said, “Show me a young Conservative and I’ll show you someone with no heart. Show me an old Liberal and I’ll show you someone with no brains.”

Never one to partake in right-of-center politics,most of my days have been spent further to the left end of the spectrum, much like the majority of my family.  Recent years, however, have left me feeling disenchanted with our political system, as well  as many of the politicians running it.  Or trying to run it.  Seems to me the folks over in DC are more into tail-chasing and semantics than anything else.

Maybe it’s the bold disposition maintained by some of our American journalists who hold court further to the right.  I try to imagine where Donald Woods, my South African journalistic hero, would lie within our American standards, and I feel that he may have been considered in some respects a Libertarian.

Who knows?  Ultimately, I doubt the solutions to our country’s problems lie within a single party’s realm of reason.  Perhaps, though, we would all do well to hear the other side out.

Leave a Reply

